Takumah Itoh

Takumah Itoh

Takuma Itoh (b. 1984) is currently studying composition at the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University, where he is expected to receive B.M. in May, 2006. As a recipient of the FIRST 22 New York Youth Symphony commission, he will have his Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra premiered by the Shanghai Quartet and the NYYS (Paul Haas cond.) at Carnegie Hall inNew Yorkon May 21, 2006. Additionally, he has received the 2004 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award, a 1st place in the Russell Horn Voice of Change Young Composer Award, a fellowship to the Pacific Music Festival in the summer of 2005, and a fellowship to attend the Aspen Music Festival this summer. He has studied with Shih-Hui Chen, Edward Applebaum, Anthony Brandt, Pierre Jalbert, and Karim Al-Zand.

Commission Information

Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra
Commissioned for: 

Related Concert

May 21, 2006