John Fitz Rogers

John Fitz Rogers

Composer John Fitz Rogers's music has been performed around the world in leading venues and by ensembles and festivals such as Carnegie Hall, Bang on a Can Marathon, Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Albany, Louisville, Charleston, and Tulsa Symphony Orchestras, New York Youth Symphony, Eastman Wind Ensemble, the MATA, Rockport, Bumbershoot, Bowling Green, and Keys To The Future festivals, the World Saxophone Congress, and by individuals and chamber ensembles such as Antares, New Century Saxophone Quartet, Capitol Quartet, Lionheart, Composers, Inc., and the Meehan/Perkins Duo.  Recent premieres included Double Concerto for two pianos and orchestra, commissioned by the South Carolina Philharmonic; Narragansett for wind ensemble, which received its world premiere at the College Band Directors National Association 2013 national conference; and Rogers's string quartet, Book of Concord, commissioned by and premiered at the Chamber Music Conference and Composers Forum of the East in Bennington, VT.

Rogers has received many commissions, fellowships, and awards, including those from ASCAP, the American Composers Forum, American Music Center, Music at the Anthology and the Mary Flagler Cary Trust, National Flute Association, MacDowell Colony, South Carolina Arts Commission, and the Massachusetts Cultural Council, as well as the Heckscher Foundation Composition Prize for his orchestral work Symphony of Cities.

A dedicated advocate for contemporary music, Rogers founded the Southern Exposure New Music Series, which received the 2007 Chamber Music America / ASCAP Award for Adventurous Programming.  He holds degrees in music from Cornell University, the Yale School of Music, and Oberlin College, and is currently an Associate Professor of Composition at the University of South Carolina School of Music and visiting faculty at the Vermont College of Fine Arts.

Commission Information

Commissioned for: 

Related Concert

February 21, 1993