Spring Concert

Concert Information

May 28, 1989

Spring Concert

Samuel Wong, conductor
Hong-Ying Ho, violin

Mozart: Magic Flute Overture, K. 620
Prokofiev: Concerto No. 1 in D major for Violin, Op. 19
Mark Gustavson: Waves (world premiere)
Strauss: Death and Transfiguration, Op. 24

Guest Artist

Hong-Ying Ho

Ho Hong-ying received international exposure at a very young age when she was featured in the film "From Mao to Mozart: Isaac Stern in China" and won fourth prize in the First Yehudi Menuhin International Violin Competition. A native of Guangzhou, she entered the Central Conservatory of Beijing at the age of ten. There she performed for Dorothy Delay, who subsequently invited her to study at the Juilliard School of Music. Ho has appeared as soloist with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra and the Jupiter Symphony Orchestra in New York among others. She is also an active chamber musician. Her recordings with the Manhattan String Trio and the Bauhinia Piano Trio have been broadcast in Europe, America and Hong Kong. In 1999 Ho Hong-ying became the concertmaster of the City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong. She has performed as soloist with the orchestra on tours to Italy and mainland China.

Soloist Profile

First Music Commission