Spring Concert

Concert Information

May 17, 1981

Spring Concert

Robert Hart Baker, conductor
Alexander Simionescu, violin

Beethoven: Overture to the ballet "The Creatures of Prometheus"
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Gustavo Fasetti: El Filo del Pasado ("The Edge of the Past")
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11, Op. 103 "The Year of 1905"

Guest Artist

Alexander Simionescu

Romanian-born violinist ANDY SIMIONESCU is a graduate of the Curtis Institute of Music where he completed his studies wish Szymon Goldberg. Andy's solo appearances have taken him to the stages of Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, the Musikverein, Tokyo's Casals Hall and throughout the US, Europe, and Asia. Recital highlights include performances at the White House, the Kennedy Center, Library of Congress, New York's 92nd Street Y and Alice Tully Hall. A prolific chamber musician, he is a member of the Raphael Trio and Artistic Director of The Performers of Westchester.